Teeny Manolo: Celebrating the Joys of Parenting and Childhood - Part 28



Ways in Which My Children Drive Me Crazy

October 4th, 2011
By Glinda

My son’s complete lack of ability to “find” anything. “Please get me the pillows your dad got from the store, they are on the chair in the garage.” “What? There are no pillows in the garage, I looked!” “Dude, they are RIGHT in FRONT of your nose!” “Moo-oom, I can’t find the pillows.” Commence hair being forcibly pulled from my skull.

My daughter’s ability to completely destroy books with a special manuever I like to call the “back bend.” Before I can do anything about it, she will grasp the middle of the book, and force it back to meet the front cover. This is not pretty, and it pains me every time she does it.

Also, the fact that even though she has had a diaper on her body pretty much 24/7 since her birth, she still fights diaper changes. Don’t give me any tips, I’ve tried them all.

My son whose picture should be in the dictionary under the caption “unimpressed.”

And, the fact that he will repeat what I just said, but have one or two of the words wrong, making what I said sound very, very stupid. I hate that.

My daughter who STILL throws food she doesn’t want on the floor.

My son’s extreme reluctance to try anything new.

The brain-splitting decibel levels my kids reach when they are playing together. OK, yeah, I’m glad you’re having a great time, but does it have to be as loud as a plane taking off?

Don’t get me wrong, I love my children dearly, but today was definitely a venting kind of day. Feel fee to vent yourself!



Monday Teeny Poll

October 3rd, 2011
By Glinda

36% of you are of the opinion that the special laptops for babies are about as effective in increasing intelligence as Baby Einstein was. Which was not really at all. 33% think big bad business is just looking to make a quick buck off parents’ fears of having a dumb kid, and 16% think it will just be a status symbol. I would never buy my daughter a special laptop, kids pick up on technology very quickly and I don’t see the need for one marketed specifically to babies. Just wait a while and have them use a real one.

As for today’s poll, I’m interested in your hands. As in, which one do you write with?



Celebrity Dad Faceoff 2.0

September 30th, 2011
By Glinda

Well, the “eyes” certainly have it (sorry!) as Hrithik Roshan pulls out an upset over Sean Bean. Dude, I can’t blame you, those eyes are simply mesmerizing!

Today’s contender comes to you courtesy of Dr. Nic, a huge Buffalo Bills fan.  She describes him thusly:

…the smartest QB in the NFL.  He is a Harvard graduate, a father of three, and has led the Buffalo Bills to a 3-0 start to the season.

Impressive indeed! Now just remember that I’m posting his team photo, so he HAS to look all mean and tough-like.

VERSUS





Cute Hairstyles for Girls

September 28th, 2011
By Glinda

I’m going to start this post off by apologizing to all the mothers of boys out there who read this blog.

As another person who has a son, I totally sympathize with all of the exclusive stuff that goes on with girls, whether it be clothes, or makeup, or whatever that we are usually not a part of.  It’s annoying.  I get it.

But I HAVE to share this website.

You see, I was searching in vain for quite a long time for easy, quick hairstyles for my two year old and her below shoulder length hair.  I know how to French Braid, but seriously, that can only get you so far.

I stumbled across this website and hallelujah! Finally a place with a bunch of great, easy styles and video tutorials to boot!  I actually found them before the 20/20 spot, but kudos to them, they deserve the spotlight!

It doesn’t hurt that Mindy and her entire family are cute as buttons, either.



Things I Love: The Mysterious Benedict Society

September 27th, 2011
By Glinda


A cryptic advertisement in the local paper leads four gifted children on an unexpected journey to defeat an evil genius.  Any more than that and I’m giving too much of it away!  If you have young readers who love fiction in the vein of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket, then this (eventual series of three books) is for them!  The children are put in danger, have to use their wits in unusual situations, and are forced to pit themselves against adults trying to harm them.

My son could not put this book down.  He is the type of reader that when he adores a book, will stay up late in order to finish it in one day. Ahem, which is a trait he definitely inherited from me.  I try to read as many of the same books as he does so that we can have some non school-related literature to chat about, and I think I liked the series almost as much as he did.  As evidenced by the fact that the day after he finished the latest release, I demanded it from him and stayed up a half hour past my bedtime to complete it.

 



Monday Teeny Poll

September 26th, 2011
By Glinda

59% of you feel that schools can only do so much in the face of bullying, which might also mean that in this day and age, school-time bullying is coming in second to online and virtual bullying.  22% think they give it a shot, but it isn’t enough, and 14% say schools don’t do nearly enough to address the problem.

I was never a bully in school, nor was I bullied, but my personal opinion is that bullying starts at home.  By that, I mean the parents of a bully have fostered an environment where a bully feels free to act out onto other people, and there is only so much a school can do to stop that type of behavior other than having a zero-tolerance policy.  Then again, I sort of hate zero tolerance policies, so I’m torn.  When my son attended public school, I cannot tell you how many parents I saw flouting school rules on a daily basis, and I would always think to myself that these parents were teaching their children by example that rules don’t apply to them.  Man, I hated those parents.

But, on to something a bit fluffier, although maybe as controversial.  The LA Times reports on the Vinci, a tablet, Android-based computer marketed specifically to children from 1 week to age 4.



Celebrity Dad Faceoff 2.0

September 23rd, 2011
By Glinda

It seems that Rudy could not withstand the smoldering Sean Bean.  Don’t look at me like that.  Don’t tell me you didn’t know that Sean Astin played Rudy?

Today I’ve got a Bollywood actor whom I’d not heard of until I began a desperate search of celebrity fathers I haven’t featured yet.  But my goodness, what took me so long to find him?  He is gaw-jus.  Just look at those eyes!

VERSUS







Disclaimer: Manolo the Shoeblogger is not Manolo Blahnik

Copyright © 2004-2009; Manolo the Shoeblogger, All Rights Reserved


  • Recent Comments:





  • Teeny Manolo is powered by WordPress

    Disclaimer: Manolo the Shoeblogger is not Mr. Manolo Blahnik. This website is not affiliated in any way with Mr. Manolo Blahnik, any products bearing the federally registered trademarks MANOlO®, BlAHNIK® or MANOlO BlAHNIK®, or any licensee of said federally registered trademarks. The views expressed on this website are solely those of the author.







    Follow Teeny Manolo on Twitter!Teeny Manolo on Facebook

    Editor

    Glinda

    Publisher

    Manolo the Shoeblogger






    Glam Ad

    Categories